Stress & Sleep

Yes, I'm posting at 12:30 AM yet again.  I'd love to just lie down and go to sleep, but my brain won't turn off.  I get like this before a big fundraiser.  I'm so worried that we're not selling enough tickets to the Rascal's games.  So visit our website, download the flyer and buy some tickets!  And while you're at it, please invite your family, friends, coworkers, the mailman and everyone that you've ever met!  We need to sell 300 more tickets by the end of the month.  The cool part is that you can get a T-shirt with Heartland's brand-new unreleased logo on it! 

The other thing stressing me out is this upper respiratory virus that's going around the kitties at my house.  It started with one group.  I quickly isolated them and seemed to be in the clear.  A week went by and no one else got sick.  Then one more mom got sick, but not the babies.  Mom got real sick – she's been to the vet twice this week.  It's amazing that a cat that barely moves and refuses to eat can still scratch that much when it's pill-time.  Tonight we've finally turned a corner.  The first ones to get sick are looking much better.  That mama cat (Samoa for those of you who know my fosters by name) started eating on her own today!  I'm so happy about that.  It gives me such hope. 

Now most of my kitties have some degree of sniffles.  But the good news is that in 2 weeks when everyone is really healthy again, they'll have immunity to this germ.  It sucks that they're all sick, but at least it takes the awful decision away – that is to bring them to adoptions or not.  When some cats are sick, do you keep them all home or hope that they can get adopted so they don't get sick.  Last weekend I guessed wrong.  I had every confidence that I had it contained, that is wasn't spreading.  I took a few cats/kittens to PetSmart – none of which had any cold signs.  2 got adopted and came down with colds during their first week at their new homes.  Ironically, the other 5 that I brought back to my house (the manx boys and Spirit) still have no signs of being sick at all.  The boys have coccidia, but that's just normal kitten stuff. 

Ok, I feel better now.  I'm still worried about ticket sales, but I did pass out 30 fliers today (way out of my comfort zone) and I'm working on an email newsletter to remind people about it, and I'm begging on my blog!  I'm tired from medicating everybody and cleaning up "accidents" like the mama cat who had ooey pooey over the edge of the box and 3 kittens walked in it and had to get a bath tonight.  And I'm worried about one little kitten, the littermate of the one that died.  She has also stopped growing.  She eats like crazy when I syringe it in her mouth but has no desire to eat from a bowl.  If kisses were a strong enough medicine, she'd be doing great by now. 

Time to go to bed and try to shut off my brain.  I'll try to dream of my new wash machine, the one they say can wash 20 towels at once, I wonder how many cat beds that translates into?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About krazycatlady

I used to work with one group rescuing cats and blogged about being a cat lady. Now I help out mulitple rescues and blog about that. But I still consider myself to be a crazy cat lady!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Stress & Sleep

  1. Maya says:

    You probably know about this already but we've found that L-lysine worked wonders for our FeLV cats for URIs. Maybe ask your vet first, I don't know if there are contraindications or anything. 🙂

Leave a comment